Astrid – Chapter 37

The Villainess Appears to be Loved by a Younger Boy

 


kurokurori.wordpress.com

 

Summer is just around the corner. After Sandra-kun and Brigitte-kun’s struggle through the final test, the two of them were rewarded with ranks just in the top 15 in our year, not far from their targets of being the top 10, and once they get there, we’ll move on and set our eyes on being the top 5. Additionally, I was pressured by how my father had splurged a lot of cold hard cash in our disposal, so obviously he won’t be satisfied if I can’t get to be the top scorer in our school, so after all my hard work, I managed to get to the first place! Hell yeah!

That said, since I dethroned Friedrich from the top spot, I was afraid that Friedrich’s diehard fan would try to murder me in one way or another, but it seemed that even in the Round Table, there were no hard feelings whatsoever. If anything, this further strengthens the terrifying notion that the Astrid-sama is truly betrothed to his Highness, so I went through hell just trying to deny that allegation. Seriously, just…leave me alone.

Listen here you lots, my type of person is an older, hardworking gentleman, not a delicate, half-assed excuse of a man.

Speaking of which, it also seemed that Adolf has been pursuing his studies religiously. I even caught him borrowing a book from the library and reading them seriously. Through Miine-kun, I had been recommending him books to allow him to steadily learn through the basics, so this should also improve Miine-kun’s standing in his heart. According to the girl, it looks like Adolf had been discussing about Blood Magic, and Miine-kun had been his trustworthy partner in what seemed to be an afterschool library date.

Bravo, bravo. As a friend, I couldn’t be prouder.

The main issue is Silvio. He seems to be the type of guy who carries his worries all over the place, and it doesn’t seem like he’s keen on sharing it to even Lotte-kun who’s been so intimate with him lately. Thanks to that, he’s often seen spacing out in the Round Table or talking to Friedrich about something.

That led me to a conclusion where Lotte-kun really needs a love potion. She could try tempting him in, and if he’s a true man, he would at least try to open up to Lotte-kun. At least the girl knows what sort of worries that burdens his mind, so he could open up a bit if given enough impetus.

Maybe.

Friedrich? Don’t know, don’t care. Next.

Now the other problem that’s been bugging me is about Adolf and his little brother Dietrich, who haven’t been talking to each other recently. The two are brothers, so I would expect them to at least talk to each other a bit, but the two won’t even look at each other’s face at all. Adolf didn’t even have a response when asked about the duel his brother had some days ago…is it possible that the siblings are in a bad relationship with each other? As a lone child in two different lifetimes, I couldn’t imagine the complexity behind a relationship between brothers. True, I have Iris whom I saw as a little sister, but it’s not like we live together like sisters would.

Either way, if there’s anything noteworthy, there’s a little change in my environment.

“Iris-senpai, look, this pastry is delicious.”

“Iris-senpai, if you have the time, please read this book. It’s truly interesting.”

A reverse harem is forming around my lovely little Iris.

“T-thank you…”

As always, Iris would be droning around me as if I’m her safe spot to run to, so the average age of the people around me drastically dropped. The senpais around us were just…looking at us from a distance with a warm smile on their faces…do they group me with these elementary schoolers by any chance?

Iris secretly told me that she can understand that Wörner-kun, being Iris’ fiancée, would show affection to her, but she unsurprisingly felt troubled by Dietrich’s show of affection. That led me to an idea of finding another partner for the poor sod, but it seems like his love for Iris has been going strong.

I can’t deny that Iris is cute, and if I see a senpai with this overwhelming cuteness, I’d want to have a chance with them.

That said, Iris is truly troubled by Dietrich’s affection, so I was left racking my brain on who could be a good partner for Dietrich. Of course, I can’t suddenly introduce him to someone since I now know almost nothing about the Elementary school department. I tried asking Iris if she can introduce him to her friends, but as it appears, Iris doesn’t seem to have any friends outside of the Round Table. There are some girls of the same age in the Round Table, but these folks were too enthralled by the senpais themselves, these precocious bunch…

“Dietrich-kun.”

“Y-Yes, how can I help you, Astrid-senpai?”

Surprised by my call, Dietrich-kun jumped. I wish you wouldn’t be so scared, like, come on, I’m not gonna eat you.

“Your grades in magic are rather good, right? I’ve seen you use Blood Magic too.”

“That is true. There is a private tutor coaching me.”

Hm? That’s weird. Didn’t Adolf’s tutor said that it’s still too early for him to use Blood Magic? Do they not have the same tutor?

“Then wouldn’t you have girls all over you already? Have you received a love letter yet?” I asked, nonchalantly and casually probing in.

“I did, though I refused them all.”

“Huh? Really?”

Damn, aren’t you already neck deep into Iris! This guy must’ve steeled himself multiple times over.

“I do feel bad for doing so, but I already my heart captured by someone.”

Whoa, that’s a line I never thought would be spoken by an elementary schooler.

“B-By the way, what’s your type of girl?”

“T-That topic might be too embarrassing for me…”

“Trust me, I’m not one to blabber about things like this.” I said, trying to coax him.

“T-they’re older…”

“Mm-hmm.”

It’s Iris.

“I…I like a broad-minded person…”

“Mm…hmm?”

I get that she’s cute but Iris being a broad-minded person? If anything, she’s a bit spoiled, and isn’t the type to spoil others, or at least that’s how she seems to me…this is weird…

“B-By the way, what type of gentleman are you into, Astrid-senpai?”

“Me? Well…I guess I just have to tell you now that I’ve got you to say yours.”

I’d feel bad of letting him be the only one to talk about his romance. I’ll use this chance to let people know what sort of person I’m into.

“First of all, they’ve got to be taller than me…”

“I see,” Dietrich nodded.

“Someone who has a positive and assertive attitude, and a hard-worker….”

“I see,” Dietrich nodded.

“Someone manly and won’t brood about something to no end…”

“I see,” Dietrich nodded.

“And someone older than me!”

“Huh?”

Dietrich instantly froze.

Huhuhu. My fellow Round Table comrades! Let it be known that I am into assertive, older gentleman! Someone like Friedrich is a definite no for me! Did all of you hear that clearly?

“U-um…about the condition of being an older gentleman…is that absolute?”

“Hmm, I wouldn’t say it’s absolute, but if they can display the composure of someone older, I wouldn’t mind taking someone my age.”

Not that it’s gonna be possible for Friedrich!

“Is that so…”

Why do you look so disappointed, Dietrich-kun? Nande ?

“Ah!”

And that was when Iris suddenly raised her voice.

“Onee-sama, can you please come with me for a second?”

“What, what is it?”

I feel bad about leaving Dietrich-kun who’s somehow feeling disappointed, but I’m concerned about Iris’ request. Sorry about this, Dietrich-kun.

Dragging me all the way out of the Round Table, Iris looked up to my face. She hasn’t grown taller recently, so I wonder if she’s going to be fine.

“Onee-sama, listen to me. I am sure that the one Dietrich is in love with is not me, but you, onee-sama.”

“Heh?”

Iris surprisingly unleashed a gut-wrenching statement.

“No wait, but Dietrich-kun had fought Wörner-kun who’s been around you, you know?”

“That is true, but I think that since then, you have been his target of affection, onee-sama. I heard about your talk about the type of person you like, but judging by his reaction, I am sure that he is thinking about you.”

“Huuuh?”

Well…it’s true that I’m older.

“Then…why has he been bothering you a lot recently?”

“Perhaps it’s because he’s too embarrassed to talk to you directly. I think he thinks that being by my side will indirectly get him by your side as well.”

Really? So Iris hasn’t been having a reverse harem this entire time? Heck there’s another important question of did I really just make a boy 4 years younger fall for me?

“I think that’s a stretch though…”

“No, I’m sure that is the case. Recently I have been reading that sort of novels under Wörner-sama’s recommendation.”

Wörner-kun, you best stop teaching the pure little Iris about strange things before I get angry.

“Hmm…this puts me in a pickle. If he could’ve told me directly I might have turned him down gently, but just leaving speculations for him feels rude…”

He might be 4 years younger than me, but he’s part of an influential noble family, and the worst part is, he’s connected to that landmine called Adolf.

“I am sure that he will confess his feelings at some point. He is quite manly in that regard.”

“And until then he’s going to be an unexploded ordnance, huh…”

I’m into older guys though…! Honestly, the runts from elementary school are…you know!

A-anyways, the boys of his age is rather whimsical, so I’m sure Dietrich-kun would fall for another prettier girl and get married. The boy’s gallant and he’s got talent in magic anyways.

“Then you must be relieved, huh Iris? I bet you feel like a weight is off your shoulders now that there aren’t two boys fighting over you.

“That is true. Wörner-sama is more than enough for me…”

That said though, is this development depicted in the game? I don’t know since when the game’s Astrid has been viewed as a villainess, but from the way I see it, she’s a rather pure-hearted girl who truly longs for Friedrich, Adolf and Silvio whom she idolizes. Afterwards Elza the commoner came straight out of the left field and seduced the three away which led her to snap her last nerve. If I think of her that way, I wouldn’t think that living as her would be hell. Maybe she was truly just a pure, honest girl. All of that opens up the possibility that Dietrich might have fallen for her in the first place, but how would she turn down Dietrich who’s not in her strike range?

I thought to myself, hey Mr. Author! Come down here and help a sister out!, but unsurprisingly, there were no responses. Seems like my efforts are fruitless after all.

< Chapter 36 [ToC] Chapter 38 >


TLN:

Damn it I expected Iris to be rather miffed that yet another someone is after Astrid but then she said “Wörner-sama is more than enough for me…” like mah heart mah sole.

Also I’m moving out of my old place and because of new years, stuff are getting delayed including my internet, and including my other business in life, update speed will significantly be decreased. Sorry about that.

Either way, hope you enjoyed the chapter, and have a nice day, a happy holiday, a Merry Christmas, and a blissful new year. 2020 has been a bitch, but hope y’all end it on a good note.

 

9 thoughts on “Astrid – Chapter 37

  1. I would also take older man or older man-type on the same age as me since I’m kinda spoiled too, lol~
    Also, Astrid adding new landmines to her watchlist~

    Like

  2. Good luck in your move and I hope your new year is a better one than 2020 was. Thanks for the new chapter, and I look forward to the next one.

    Like

  3. damn im reading it for guns astrid is developing and some pew pew action not a daily struggles of said cahracter i think dear author derailed a bit he/she forgot what was the aim of said novel i dont hate some fillers but too much makes it stagnant fillers do shape character and surroundings but going full filler mode makes it go old quickly you get fed up of fredrich (astrid please shoot him already) and school life trope is overused here i dont hate it if its not too much and add something in building storys magic system but on the other side im fed up of japanise fixation on school (wich in my case was mental murder) it started off as a really nice story but the gun part is far in between i hope they go on summer brake or something so we can read astrid going crazy with new ideas otherwise good luck with your move in new apartment/house and i hope you translate some more story for us in future thank you for chapter

    Like

  4. ‘Listen here you lots, my type of person is an older, hardworking gentleman, not a delicate, half-assed excuse of a man.’ I love that line😂, if only she could say it she could get that prince to bug off.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment